My Great Grandparents

I always think it’s nice to be able to put a face to a story.  So I’ve decided to post photos of my ancestors before I actually tell their stories. Amazingly, native Italians found their way to Jacksonville, Florida, via Boston.  The Dows (two parents and ten of their eleven children) rode a train from Michigan to claim land in Florida they had purchased sight unseen. The Dukes and the Fletchers made their way to north central Florida from Georgia. The following photos were taken of my great grandparents.

My Maternal Great Grandparents

James Ball and Laura Lee Fletcher

James Ball and Laura Lee Fletcher

John Martin and Alice Allen Dukes

John Martin and Alice Allen Dukes

My Paternal Great Grandparents

Viola Bell Bennett and Edward E. Dow

Viola Bell Bennett and Edward E. Dow

Joseph (Giuseppe) Damato

Joseph (Giuseppe) Damato

Angelina Previti Damato

Angelina Previti Damato

This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Great Grandparents

  1. Pingback: Happy 133rd Anniversary! | ancestors2013

  2. Pingback: A Life Remembered – James Ball Fletcher | ancestors2013

  3. gpcox says:

    They were built of stronger stock back then (and definitely a pioneering spirit!)

    • I agree, GP, and I’m thankful they were or I would not be here. It is very sobering to me to think of all those ancestors who came before me and what they endured and he choices they made so that I could enjoy this life I now have.

  4. Pingback: The Apparent Italian Bostonian Was Really an Italian Floridian | ancestors2013

Leave a Reply

