Samuel Abrams – Civil War Soldier

Today marks the anniversary of the death of my paternal 3rd great grandfather, Samuel Abrams, in 1866. In his honor, I thought it best to pay tribute to him by sharing a transcription of an affidavit of one of his contemporaries who knew him personally. This statement recounts the events concerning his death as well as his character.

 

General Affidavit

State of Ohio, County of Jackson, §

In the matter of ~~~ Pension Claim of Minors of Samuel Abrams late of Company H of the 191st Regiment Ohio Volunteers, personally appeared Harrison Adams M.D. who being duly sworn, according to law, says: In the year 1865, and for some years before I resided at Webster, (then Iron Furnace P.O., now So. Webster) Scioto Co. Ohio, and practiced medicine there. I knew Samuel Abrams, who lived near Jackson Furnace in Jackson Co. Ohio near to my place of residence; and know that he was a sound, healthy, hard working man till 1864 when he enlisted in the U.S. Army. In Sept 1865 the said Abrams returned home from the army, in an afflicted condition, having diseased lungs and chronic diarrhea.  I treated him from that time continuously, until his death, which occurred January 28, 1866, from the diseases above named. There can be no question as to the fact of his sickness and death, and the causes thereof. I knew said Abrams ten years before he enlisted, and regarded him as a very stout, healthy man, having no perceptible lung disease or Diarrhea. I know he did actually a vast amount of hard manual before his enlistment, while I knew him. I was acquainted with him in Kentucky before he came to Ohio.

My P.O. address is Flat, Pike Co. Ohio.

I further declare that I have no interest in said claim, and am not concerned in its prosecution.

                                      (signed) Harrison Adams

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 31st day of August A.D. 1889, and I certify that the contents of the foregoing affidavit were fully made known and explained, (by reading the same to the affiant,) before swearing; and that I have no interest whatever in this matter.

Witness my hand and official seal, the day and year last above written.

                                                          Wm M Johnson

                                                          Notary Public

                                                          Jackson County Ohio[1]

 

 

Here is a form (found at http://www.ancestry.com) showing that a headstone was contracted for his grave in 1901 at Stephenson Cemetery in Mabee (Corner), Jackson County, Ohio.

 Image

Correspondence on a message board several years ago indicated that the cemetery is not well kept, difficult to access, and that grave markers are being overgrown by brush.

Nevertheless, today I honor the life of the man, my ancestor, Samuel Abrams.


[1] General Affidavit, 31 Aug 1889, Harrison Adams, M.D., minors pension application no. 270031, certificate no. 370556; service of Samuel Abrams (Pvt., Co. H, 191st Ohio Vol. Inf., Civil War); Case Files of Approved Pension Applications…, 1861-1934; Civil War and Later Pension Files; Department of  Veteran Affairs, Record Group 15; National Archives, Washington, D.C.  

This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

